About Benue State


Benue is a state in the mid-east region of Nigeria with a population of about 4,253,641 in 2006 census. Idoma and Tiv, are spoken predominantly. There are other ethnic groups, including Igede, Etulo and Abakwa., Jukun, Hausa, Akweya and Nyifon. With its capital at Makurdi, Benué is a rich agricultural region; some of the crops grown there are potatoes, cassava, soya bean, guinea corn, flax, yams and Sesame,Rice, Grand nuts.

Benué State is named after the Benué River and was formed from the former Benue-Plateau State in 1976, along with Igala and some part of Kwara State. In 1991 some areas of Benué state (mostly Igala area), along with areas in Kwara State, were carved out to become part of the new Kogi State. Traces of Igbo people and tribes are found in the boundary areas of Ebonyi State and Enugu State in local government areas like the Obi, Oju etc.

Dr Samuel Ortom is the Governor and Engr Benson Abounu is the Deputy Governor. Both are All Progressives Congress (APC) members.

Benué state has three universities: Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Benue State University, Makurdi, and University of Mkar, Mkar, Gboko. It has two polytechnics: Benue State Polytechnic, Ugbokolo and Fidei polytechnic, Gboko as well as the Akperan Orshi college of Agriculture Yandev. There are about four colleges of education which are Federal College of Education Agasha, College of Education Oju, College of Education Kastina Ala. Benue State as it exists today is a surviving legacy of an administrative entity which was carved out of the protectorate of northern Nigeria at the beginning of the twentieth century. The territory was initially known as Munshi Province until 1918 when the name of its dominant

For more information: